How To Find Concealed Carry Illinois Classes

In July 2013 IL Public Act 98-63 required anyone wishing to carry a concealed firearm to be licensed. A major aspect of this law is the requirement to take concealed carry Illinois classes. This class covers all aspects of handgun safety and handling and the concealed carry law. Those found carrying without a permit are subject to a Class A Misdemeanor; multiple offenses can result in a Felony.

In addition to taking a class, there are other restrictions. You must be at least 21 years of age. If an Illinois resident, you must have a valid Firearm Owner Identification Card (FOID). No one who has been convicted or found/plead guilty to crimes having to do with physical violence or force, multiple DUIs, pending warrants, judgments or prosecutions, or have recently been in an alcohol or drug treatment program (past 5 years) is eligible. The final criteria is to have taken 16 hours of certified firearm instruction.

Only those who are retired or current peace officers are exempt from this law. Retired officers can get approved via the federally run IROCC Program. For more information on exemptions, check online for information from the state. Those from out-of-state wishing to be eligible must check their home state’s laws, which must closely match those of IL.

The 16 hour carry certification class is generally done in a series of shorter sessions. Day, evening and weekend classes are available. For those who want to get through the class quickly, many schools offer an intensive 16 hour course which is completed in one day. For those with schedules that make it tough to attend a regular class, private instruction is available.

The course offered at different concealed carry Illinois classes will differ slightly, but all will cover the same basic information. This is not to say all providers are the same. One thing to investigate is the experience and background of the instructors. You may find that a particular instructor is better suited to your particular interest or needs. You may find a course where multiple instructors are used in order to provide a range of approaches and styles.

Classroom study is an important aspect of this course. You will be taught the basics of safe gun handling, proper storage of both weapons and ammunition and cleaning and caring for a pistol. An overview of ammunition and accessories is also included. The focus of the class is what constitute lawful concealment. Many schools use “what-if” scenarios to help you clearly understand what is legal and what is not. Most importantly, the laws covering use of force and self defense are covered in depth.

Range time is an important component of the training. Instructors will demonstrate and instruct you on stance, grip and breathing. Pistol handling and control basics are reviewed and students are evaluated and critiqued until proficient. Time handling and firing provides students with confidence that they can carry into the real world.

It is estimated that there will be more than 400,000 applicants for IL CCLs in the first year. If you are interested in a CCL, sign up for concealed carry Illinois classes soon. For a list of registered instructors and schools, check online. Currently the wait time for class is almost 6 months, so don’t delay.

When you need to find information about concealed carry Illinois classes, residents should pay a visit to the web pages here at today. You can see details at now.