All The Types Of Chinese Teas Explained

Most likely you are familiar with the Chinese stating, “Firewood, rice, oil, salt, sauce, vinegar, and tea are the seven necessities to begin a day.” Though tea is last on the list, we can still see exactly how crucial the tea is for the Chinese.

There are in fact hundreds of Chinese tea varieties. These are usually classified by treatment, quality, and preparation approaches and so on. However, if we will certainly consider tea in regards to quality, there are in fact eight classes of Chinese tea. These include green tea, oolong, black, red, white, yellow, flower, and compressed tea.

Now, let’s have a look at these classes one by one.

Green Tea

Green tea is stated to be the most natural kind of Chinese tea. It is normally chosen, naturally dried and fried briefly to get rid of its grassy odor. Unlike the additional types, green tea uses a skipped fermentation process.

According to some specialists, green tea has the most medicinal value and the least caffeine content of all Chinese tea classes. The aroma of this sort of Chinese tea is sorted from medium to high, while the flavor is normally light to medium. Today, about 50 % of China’s tea is green tea.

Oolong Tea

This type of Chinese tea is halfway between green tea and black tea in a sense that it is half fermented. Chinese also call it “Qing Cha” and its typical leaves are green in the middle and red on the edges as a result of the procedure to soften the tea leaves.

Oolong tea leaves are essentially withered and dispersed prior to undergoing a short fermentation process. Then, it is fried, rolled and roasted.

Black Tea

The Chinese black tea produces full-bodied amber when brewed. Also, this type of Chinese tea undergoes withering, then is left to ferment for a long while, then roasted. The leaves of this variety become totally oxidized after processing.

Red Tea

As the name indicates, this type of Chinese tea has red leaves and red tea color. This colour is strongly highlighted throughout the fermentation process. It is additionally thought about that red tea has low aroma and medium taste and it is now divided into three subclasses: Kung Fu Red Tea, Ted Tea Bits, and Small Species Red Tea.

White Tea

This type of Chinese tea is occasionally thought about as a subclass of green tea. Probably it is for the fact that it is only withered then roasted. Much like green tea, white tea does not undergo fermentation processes. And, it has a lower caffeine component.

Yellow Tea

Apparently, yellow tea has yellow leaves and yellow tea colour. According to some professionals, this kind of Chinese tea is an uncommon class of Chinese tea. The taste of yellow tea is normally moderate and energizing.

Flower Tea

Here is a special type of Chinese tea– the Flower tea. It really partitions into Flower Tea and Scented Tea. Well, the Flower Tea is just based upon a simple idea that dried flowers are made use of, without much processing, to make tea. The Scented Tea, on the other hand, uses green tea and red tea as base mixed with odor of flowers. Usually, this class has light to medium taste and medium to strong aroma.

Compressed Tea

The final kind of Chinese tea is the compressed tea. This class utilizes black tea as base tea. It is steamed and compressed into bricks, cakes, columns, and other designs. Additionally, compressed tea has all the characteristics of black tea. It can easily be kept for years and years.

The author possesses tremendous knowledge with tea online. Visit this website to find out more about Tea & Sympathy.